Bulk Copy or Archive Classes
Copy/Archiving Classes vs Making Classes Inactive
The difference between Archiving a class and making a class Inactive is that making it Inactive merely moves the class and all its students into an inactive state where it will not appear on your class list and will cease to appear on your web site class list. To reactivate the class you simply change its status from Inactive to Active and all functionality is restored and the class is visible on the web.
With Archiving a class, a snap shot at that point in time of the class and all its students and attendances is taken and this is saved in a status of Archive. Once this occurs you can make no changes to it nor can it be un-archived. It is a historial record only.
How to work with end of period Class Archiving or Copying
When you are ready to prepare the next period of Classes, the Bulk Copy/Archive Classes menu allows you firstly to select a number of classes to perform either Copy or Archive upon.
You should select the classes you wish to perform the Copy or Archive function upon then click Next.
You then need to select which action you wish to carry out.:
1. Copy and archive the selected classes (any Resources attached to the class will be moved to the new class)
2. Copy and retain the selected classes
3. Archive only the selected classes (note classes must be made Inactive first)
If you select either Copy or Copy and Archive you then have an opportunity to select a number of options and changes relating to the class name/s that you wish to make eg if the class name includes say Term 1 you can have this changed to Term 2 for example. You can also select the following options to apply to the class/es you've selected:
1. Change start and finish dates
2. Make the new class automatically Active
3. Display the new copied class in the web class list
4. Allow or disallow Online enrolment (default is disallow but you can bulk activate online enrolment in the Classes Status Change menu)
5. Suspend student emails (if not checked any Students copied to the new class will be emailed about this occuring)
6. Emailing the Tutor when a student joins or leaves the new copied class
7. Emailing the convenor or class admin nominee when a student joins or leaves the new class
8. Retain the enrolled students in the new class (if you only wish to have only some retained, disable the emailing or invoicing of students, retain them all and then remove the ones not enrolling in the new class after the procedure is completed).
9. Retain the waitlist from the old class into the new class
10.Create invoices for enrolled students in the new class (in cases where the class carrys a cost)
11.Email those invoices to the students of the new class.
Once you've selected your options click APPLY.
A table will appear at the bottom of the page showing you the changes that are going to be made to the classes you selected on the first screen. If you wish to make any changes to any of the classes in the table highlight then click the Edit Selected Classes button at the top left corner. In the example below I asked to change T1 to T3 and asked for the start date to move to September 1 2026 and end date 13 December 2026. I did not select to make the class open for Online Enrolment.
Once happy with the new classes click Copy or Copy/Archive (whichever option you chose on the previous screen. You will have one last opportunity to change your selection when you see the pop up appear summarising your changes
Accessing inactive or Archived Classes
To access an Inactive or Archived class simply change the Status filter at the top of the Class List page from Active to Inactive or Archived.